Hey! Who let this guy in the club?

Alrighty then, so NOW we’ve got something to talk about.  It turns out that in the wake of the decision to ban anchored putting a whole new, larger, and far more significant issue has emerged: should there be a different set of rules for pros as opposed to amateur golfers? You know, one set for those who get paid to play, and another for those who pay to play.

Well I have an emphatic and unequivocal response to that suggestion: No. Never.

I have a noble–or at least noble sounding–reason for this stance, as well as a rationale, that if not ignoble, is  simply more accommodating to the reality of the game as most of us play it.  Since most of you are pressed for time, let me start with the first.

I reject the idea that there should be bifurcation of the rules because, although raised a Protestant, I am proud to be a member of the catholic and holy apostolic church of golf.  One set of rules uber alles.  Sauce for the goose is sauce for the gander.  The rules on the muni are as it is at Augusta, stroke and distance, now and forever, amen.  We have our saints (Hogan, Nelson, Jones), as well as our sacraments (“And he said unto them, verily, as I mix equal parts of iced tea and lemonade, you shall name this after me.”)

As a member of this global fraternity and sorority, I sit here in the rainy early morning hours in San Francisco knowing that  right now a golfer somewhere in this world is taking a drop for an unplayable lie and that another is glumly hitting a provisional, and that reassures me that we are all in this together.  I think I speak for a lot of golfers when I say that while watching the Big Boys play on TV I experience a sense of solidarity, knowing that although mine is a far inferior version, we are all playing essentially the same game, subject to the same random misfortunes and governed by the same rules.  Why break that up?

As for my second reason, well, that can wait.  It’s Friday and I’ve got work to do, and so, I would wager, do you.  Hasta luego.

