Those of you who spend time on Twitter, or tweeps as we call each other, are familiar with the diversion of participating in a discussion that is ‘trending.’  A topic gets marked with a hashtag (#) and your contribution to the global discussion on topics such #theyneedtobringback or #whatyoushouldknowaboutme gets thrown into the mix.  One popular variation on this is the ‘trend’ of changing movie titles or band names by substituting in words like ‘pancake’ or ‘bacon’.   When something like this gets going you can scroll through suggestions like The Rolling Pancakes or One Flew Over the Bacon’s Nest.  It’s stupid, for sure.  But fun, for a minute or two.

Well, I have to confess that I have an idea for one of these that I just can’t shake.  I keep telling myself, “C’mon, Paul, there’s got to be another word that you can use,” but for some reason I keep coming back to this: change golf course names with the word ‘pubic’.  See, I bet you’ve already started doing this in your head.  What’s great about this is that it works so well for some of the best courses in the world:

Pebble Pubic

The Old Pubic at St. Andrews

Whistling Pubics

Winged Pubic

TPC Sawpubic

Pubic Ridge

The British Isles are a treasure trove of great names: Ballypubic,  Royal County Pubic, Royal St. Pubic, Pubicinch, Pubic & St. Annes, and Turnpubic, just to name a few of my favorites.  It’s a global phenomenon as well, as the names Cabo del Pubic and Mauna Pubic attest.

And, as further proof that this is indeed a fitting word to use in this manner, I submit the name of one of America’s most famous and arguably greatest golf courses: Pubic Valley.  It’s a place where everybody wants to be.

As a final note, I would like to point out, just in the off chance that a member of one of these clubs ever reads this, that I have intentionally not subjected Cypress Point and Augusta National to this form of degradation.  Still clinging to the faint hope that I’ll get an invite some day.

